40th Birthday Cake

A few weeks ago, I signed up for a craft exchange with a friend on Facebook, with full intentions of crocheting a quick scarf and calling it even.  Well, said friend invited us to her 40th birthday party.  Since, I have cake decorating skills, and she needed a birthday cake, I went with that instead.  She sent me a link to the cake she wanted, and I obliged.  My numbers didn’t cooperate, and tried to break, nothing a few strategically placed leaves couldn’t fix.  Also I wasn’t excited about the buttercream border so I used fondant beads instead.  I also used this tutorial for the roses.  Much thanks for that tip, it definitely was faster than the gum paste roses I had planned to do.   I think I’m happy with the outcome; the birthday girl was thrilled!  Its a win!

Image

2 thoughts on “40th Birthday Cake

  1. Bean says:

    Wow, what a cool cake! It’s so crazy how well you were able to recreate the cake in the picture. I can only hope I’ll be able to so something like this someday! :]

  2. mydearbakes says:

    Wow! It looks almost like the one on cake channel! Absolutely fantastic! I’m just as thrilled as the birthday girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

